International Carnivorous Plant Society

Carnivorous Plant Newsletter Archive


Phylogeny and Biogeography of the Sarraceniaceae

John Brittnacher

Carniv. Pl. Newslett. 42(3):99-106
Published 28 August 2013

Download PDF


The carnivorous plant family Sarraceniaceae in the order Ericales consists of three genera: Darlingtonia, Heliamphora, and Sarracenia. Darlingtonia is represented by one species that is found in northern California and western Oregon. The genus Heliamphora currently has 23 recognized species all of which are native to the Guiana Highlands primarily in Venezuela with some spillover across the borders into Brazil and Guyana. Sarracenia has 15 species and subspecies, all but one of which are located in the southeastern USA. The range of Sarracenia purpurea extends into the northern USA and Canada. Closely related families in the plant order Ericales include the Roridulaceae consisting of two sticky-leaved carnivorous plant species, Actinidiaceae, the Chinese gooseberry family, Cyrillaceae, which includes the common wetland plant Cyrilla racemiflora, and the family Clethraceae, which also has wetland plants including Clethra alnifolia.

Keywords: History: Sarraceniaceae evolution

Article Citation

John Brittnacher. 2013. Phylogeny and Biogeography of the Sarraceniaceae. Carniv. Pl. Newslett. 42(3):99-106.

Page views: 783


©International Carnivorous Plant Society

This page is maintained by John Brittnacher.
Please contact us at our membership website,